Bhagavad Saptaha XXXXX

Thursday, 23 May 2013

Household life of Sri Krishna
            kamas tu vasudevamso dagdhah prag rudra-manyun
            dehopapattaye bhuyas tam eva pratyapadyata   (10/55/1)
            Rukhminiji gives birth to Pradumnya who destroys Sambasura.
            Bhagavan’s second marriage is solemnized with Satyabhama daughter of Satrajit and His third marriage is with Jambavati. When Sri Krishna goes in search of Samantak mani (jewel), from Jamunaji appears Kalindi and she is the fourth consort of Sri Krishna. Fifth is Mitrabinda and the sixth queen is Nagnajita, Sri Krishna’s seventh marriage is with Satyajita and His eighth queen is Laksmana. They are the eight chief queen of Sri Krishna.
            In the seventh chapter of Bhagavad Gita there is talk of eight kinds of prakriti – earth, water, fire, air, ether, mind, intelligence and ego. This jiva when becomes the servant of prakriti becomes unhappy, prakriti should be utilized for bhakti only, jiva is a mere servant of Krishna not prakriti not maya.
            Prakriti is one’s nature, by winning over it one attains utmost happiness, the reasons of human miseries are his nature and if nature is purified liberation is achieved. The eight prakriti are servants of Sri Krishna, the duty or karma of jiva binds him and the work of Paramatma is leela which liberates from bindings.
            In this chapter Sri Krishna’s marriage with 16 thousand princesses are described. These 16 thousand princesses are self-esteemed devataas of veda, veda is not only in form of words, in every mantras of the veda there is self-esteemed devataas, rishis and chandas. By the knowledge of devas, rishis and chandas veda mantras becomes successful. The mantras of Vedas gets tired while narrating the glories of the Lord but the description does not end ‘nayam atma prabachnena labhya’. Just describing about food one is not satisfied, after eating only can one be satisfied. Feeling the Lord is more difficult then having His darshan. ‘nyayam atma prabachanena lavya’.
            The self-esteemed devataas gets tired describing brahman but still could not feel brahman, thus the self-esteemed devataas establishing relation with brahman to feel Paramatma reveals themselves in the form of princesses.
            In the scriptures, the number of mantras in the Vedas are said to be one lakh – four thousand mantras are of gyana kanda, 16 thousand mantras are of upasana kanda and the rest 80 thousand are of karma kanda. In the Vedas all the three kandas namely karma, gyana and bhakti are described, there is a necessity of all three of these in human life.
            Practice to concentrate the mind in the name, form and the lotus feet of the Lord is called bhakti. Through gyana one can realize the omnipresence of the Lord.
            Some says that in Gita, gyana is foremost, some says karma and other says bhakti. The first six chapters of Gita are about karma-yoga, the next six are about bhakti-yoga and the last six chapter describes about gyana-yoga. The Vedas ends in Upanishad and Upanishads are situated within aranyakas. There are three parts in the Vedas – samhita, brahman and aranyaka, samhitas are the mantras and how these mantras are to be used by the jivas while performing yajna that is described in the books of brahman and third division is aranyaka – the rishi-munis residing in the jungles feeding themselves with roots and fruits cultivates gyana, one who is judging gyana based upon tatva he is named as aranyaka.
            Sri Sukdevji is illustrating that in the Vedas there are 16 thousand mantras which belongs to bhakti-yoga and these 16 thousand veda mantras and the self-esteemed devataas to feel the brahman manifests in the form of princesses. The princesses are imprisoned by Bhaumasura – now let us discuss a little about the meaning of the word Bhaumasura, the meaning of bhauma is body asa means prana the alphabet ra means to do raman (sexual pleasure) – one who believes that to perform ramana with the body is happiness he is bhaumasura. He kept the princesses imprisoned to marry all of them at one moment. If the Veda mantras reaches a self-indulgent person, than he will imply them according to his desires. Vedas does not like bhoga (earthly pleasures) the significance of Vedas is entrusted upon sacrifice. The Vedas although devoted to nivritti (to refrain from) permits to enjoy samsara ‘hrito varya upeyat’ as veda Bhagavan knows that the jivas are not capable to leave samsara, so Vedas prescribes the reasonability to enjoy the pleasures of samsara keeping the dignity of dharma but the import of Vedas is not enjoyment but sacrifice. Nivritti is ista (worshipable deity) of the Vedas pravritti (commenced activities) is just sadhan (austere practice) of nivritti.
            In the palace of Bhaumasura the princesses are kept in captive and Sri Krishna arrives there alongwith His wife Satyabhama, He kills Bhaumasura and releases the princesses. Lord is the receptacle of the shelterless. These 16 thousand princesses becomes shelterless as nobody is willing to marry them and as  they are unwilling to return back to their paternal homes, they all takes refuge of Lord Sri Krishna and Sri Krishna bestows them the highest dignity of wifehood. Lord Sri Krishna is maha yogeswara (greater than iswara of yoga), He builds 16 thousand palaces for the 16 thousand princesses, Himself manifests in the form of 16 thousand husbands and the guru of Yadavas Sri Gargacharya also appears in 16 thousand forms to perform the marriage ceremony.
            Our land of Bharatvarsa is a land of dharma, gyana and bairagya, here all deeds are performed with the aim of dharma, here marriage is also performed for attainment of dharma, here marriage is carried out keeping devas, brahmanas and fire as witnesses.
            In an auspicious moment 16 thousand Sri Krishna marries 16 thousand princesses and in this way Sri Krishna becomes husband of 16 thousand princesses. The angle of vision of love between the married woman and man should be upon soul and not of the body, if love is based upon body then husband-wife fall down. Bhagavan Sri Krishna manifests an ideal grihastha dharma at Dwarka, grihastha asrama is the form of mother of all other asrama, it is not obstructive but endeavor to achieve bhakti. The pure loving relation between the husband and wife is for crossing the ocean of be continued
(A part of the Summary of Srimad Bhagavattam translated from the diary of Sri Gurudeb)